| Summary of Financial Information of Reportable Segments |
The following tables summarize information for the reportable segments (in thousands): For the three months ended June 30, 2024: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Outpatient Medical | | Lab | | CCRC | | Other Non-reportable | | Corporate Non-segment | | Total | | Total revenues | | $ | 332,515 | | | $ | 214,266 | | | $ | 140,891 | | | $ | 6,878 | | | $ | 954 | | | $ | 695,504 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Less: Interest income and other | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (6,878) | | | (954) | | | (7,832) | | | Healthpeak’s share of unconsolidated joint venture total revenues | | 6,903 | | | 4,301 | | | — | | | 21,378 | | | — | | | 32,582 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Noncontrolling interests’ share of consolidated joint venture total revenues | | (9,341) | | | (33) | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (9,374) | | | Operating expenses | | (111,702) | | | (56,656) | | | (105,469) | | | — | | | — | | | (273,827) | | | Healthpeak’s share of unconsolidated joint venture operating expenses | | (2,464) | | | (1,528) | | | — | | | (15,790) | | | — | | | (19,782) | | | Noncontrolling interests’ share of consolidated joint venture operating expenses | | 2,609 | | | 9 | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | 2,618 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Adjustments to NOI(1) | | (10,430) | | | (13,289) | | | (1,739) | | | 226 | | | — | | | (25,232) | | | Adjusted NOI | | 208,090 | | | 147,070 | | | 33,683 | | | 5,814 | | | — | | | 394,657 | | Plus: Adjustments to NOI(1) | | 10,430 | | | 13,289 | | | 1,739 | | | (226) | | | — | | | 25,232 | | | Interest income and other | | — | | | — | | | — | | | 6,878 | | | 954 | | | 7,832 | | | Interest expense | | (4,070) | | | — | | | (984) | | | — | | | (69,856) | | | (74,910) | | | Depreciation and amortization | | (173,408) | | | (75,947) | | | (34,143) | | | — | | | — | | | (283,498) | | | General and administrative | | — | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (26,718) | | | (26,718) | | | Transaction and merger-related costs | | (41) | | | (478) | | | 24 | | | — | | | (7,264) | | | (7,759) | | | Impairments and loan loss reserves, net | | — | | | — | | | — | | | 553 | | | — | | | 553 | | | Gain (loss) on sales of real estate, net | | 66,831 | | | 55,213 | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | 122,044 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Other income (expense), net | | 1,383 | | | 185 | | | (479) | | | 38 | | | 2,877 | | | 4,004 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Less: Healthpeak’s share of unconsolidated joint venture NOI | | (4,439) | | | (2,773) | | | — | | | (5,588) | | | — | | | (12,800) | | | Plus: Noncontrolling interests’ share of consolidated joint venture NOI | | 6,732 | | | 24 | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | 6,756 | | | Income (loss) before income taxes and equity income (loss) from unconsolidated joint ventures | | 111,508 | | | 136,583 | | | (160) | | | 7,469 | | | (100,007) | | | 155,393 | | | Income tax benefit (expense) | | — | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (2,728) | | | (2,728) | | | Equity income (loss) from unconsolidated joint ventures | | (2,922) | | | 2,247 | | | — | | | 726 | | | — | | | 51 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Net income (loss) | | $ | 108,586 | | | $ | 138,830 | | | $ | (160) | | | $ | 8,195 | | | $ | (102,735) | | | $ | 152,716 | |
_______________________________________ (1)Represents straight-line rents, amortization of market lease intangibles, net, actuarial reserves for insurance claims that have been incurred but not reported, deferral of community fees, and termination fees. Includes the Company’s share of income (loss) generated by unconsolidated joint ventures and excludes noncontrolling interests’ share of income (loss) generated by consolidated joint ventures. For the three months ended June 30, 2023: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Outpatient Medical | | Lab | | CCRC | | Other Non-reportable | | Corporate Non-segment | | Total | | Total revenues | | $ | 186,661 | | | $ | 223,306 | | | $ | 130,184 | | | $ | 5,279 | | | $ | — | | | $ | 545,430 | | Government grant income(1) | | — | | | — | | | 47 | | | — | | | — | | | 47 | | | Less: Interest income and other | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (5,279) | | | — | | | (5,279) | | | Healthpeak’s share of unconsolidated joint venture total revenues | | 754 | | | 1,928 | | | — | | | 20,261 | | | — | | | 22,943 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Noncontrolling interests’ share of consolidated joint venture total revenues | | (8,665) | | | (151) | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (8,816) | | | Operating expenses | | (65,350) | | | (54,832) | | | (101,655) | | | — | | | — | | | (221,837) | | | Healthpeak’s share of unconsolidated joint venture operating expenses | | (288) | | | (848) | | | — | | | (14,618) | | | — | | | (15,754) | | | Noncontrolling interests’ share of consolidated joint venture operating expenses | | 2,409 | | | 35 | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | 2,444 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Adjustments to NOI(2) | | (4,008) | | | (14,943) | | | (728) | | | (9) | | | — | | | (19,688) | | | Adjusted NOI | | 111,513 | | | 154,495 | | | 27,848 | | | 5,634 | | | — | | | 299,490 | | Plus: Adjustments to NOI(2) | | 4,008 | | | 14,943 | | | 728 | | | 9 | | | — | | | 19,688 | | | Interest income and other | | — | | | — | | | — | | | 5,279 | | | — | | | 5,279 | | | Interest expense | | (1,924) | | | — | | | (1,823) | | | — | | | (45,327) | | | (49,074) | | | Depreciation and amortization | | (71,722) | | | (93,235) | | | (32,616) | | | — | | | — | | | (197,573) | | | General and administrative | | — | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (25,936) | | | (25,936) | | | Transaction and merger-related costs | | (16) | | | — | | | (278) | | | — | | | (343) | | | (637) | | | Impairments and loan loss reserves, net | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (2,607) | | | — | | | (2,607) | | | Gain (loss) on sales of real estate, net | | — | | | — | | | — | | | 4,885 | | | — | | | 4,885 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Other income (expense), net | | 235 | | | (2) | | | 674 | | | (19) | | | 1,067 | | | 1,955 | | | Less: Government grant income | | — | | | — | | | (47) | | | — | | | — | | | (47) | | | Less: Healthpeak’s share of unconsolidated joint venture NOI | | (466) | | | (1,080) | | | — | | | (5,643) | | | — | | | (7,189) | | | Plus: Noncontrolling interests’ share of consolidated joint venture NOI | | 6,256 | | | 116 | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | 6,372 | | | Income (loss) before income taxes and equity income (loss) from unconsolidated joint ventures | | 47,884 | | | 75,237 | | | (5,514) | | | 7,538 | | | (70,539) | | | 54,606 | | | Income tax benefit (expense) | | — | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (1,136) | | | (1,136) | | | Equity income (loss) from unconsolidated joint ventures | | 184 | | | 1,314 | | | — | | | 1,231 | | | — | | | 2,729 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Net income (loss) | | $ | 48,068 | | | $ | 76,551 | | | $ | (5,514) | | | $ | 8,769 | | | $ | (71,675) | | | $ | 56,199 | |
_______________________________________ (1)Represents government grant income received under the CARES Act, which is recorded in other income (expense), net in the Consolidated Statements of Operations (see Note 2). (2)Represents straight-line rents, amortization of market lease intangibles, net, actuarial reserves for insurance claims that have been incurred but not reported, deferral of community fees, and termination fees. Includes the Company’s share of income (loss) generated by unconsolidated joint ventures and excludes noncontrolling interests’ share of income (loss) generated by consolidated joint ventures. For the six months ended June 30, 2024: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Outpatient Medical | | Lab | | CCRC | | Other Non-reportable | | Corporate Non-segment | | Total | | | Total revenues | | $ | 570,787 | | | $ | 438,027 | | | $ | 279,667 | | | $ | 11,937 | | | $ | 1,646 | | | $ | 1,302,064 | | | | Less: Interest income and other | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (11,937) | | | (1,646) | | | (13,583) | | | | Healthpeak’s share of unconsolidated joint venture total revenues | | 9,642 | | | 9,162 | | | — | | | 42,911 | | | — | | | 61,715 | | | | Noncontrolling interests’ share of consolidated joint venture total revenues | | (18,217) | | | (196) | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (18,413) | | | | Operating expenses | | (192,970) | | | (113,496) | | | (211,090) | | | — | | | — | | | (517,556) | | | | Healthpeak’s share of unconsolidated joint venture operating expenses | | (3,547) | | | (2,852) | | | — | | | (31,889) | | | — | | | (38,288) | | | | Noncontrolling interests’ share of consolidated joint venture operating expenses | | 5,039 | | | 52 | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | 5,091 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Adjustments to NOI(1) | | (16,556) | | | (34,724) | | | (1,739) | | | 179 | | | — | | | (52,840) | | | | Adjusted NOI | | 354,178 | | | 295,973 | | | 66,838 | | | 11,201 | | | — | | | 728,190 | | | Plus: Adjustments to NOI(1) | | 16,556 | | | 34,724 | | | 1,739 | | | (179) | | | — | | | 52,840 | | | | Interest income and other | | — | | | — | | | — | | | 11,937 | | | 1,646 | | | 13,583 | | | | Interest expense | | (26,775) | | | — | | | (1,979) | | | — | | | (107,063) | | | (135,817) | | | | Depreciation and amortization | | (279,699) | | | (154,855) | | | (68,163) | | | — | | | — | | | (502,717) | | | | General and administrative | | — | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (50,017) | | | (50,017) | | | | Transaction and merger-related costs | | (154) | | | (486) | | | (49) | | | — | | | (114,290) | | | (114,979) | | | | Impairments and loan loss reserves, net | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (10,905) | | | — | | | (10,905) | | | | Gain (loss) on sales of real estate, net | | 70,086 | | | 55,213 | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | 125,299 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Other income (expense), net | | 1,454 | | | 79,168 | | | (718) | | | 38 | | | 2,578 | | | 82,520 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Less: Healthpeak’s share of unconsolidated joint venture NOI | | (6,095) | | | (6,310) | | | — | | | (11,022) | | | — | | | (23,427) | | | | Plus: Noncontrolling interests’ share of consolidated joint venture NOI | | 13,178 | | | 144 | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | 13,322 | | | | Income (loss) before income taxes and equity income (loss) from unconsolidated joint ventures | | 142,729 | | | 303,571 | | | (2,332) | | | 1,070 | | | (267,146) | | | 177,892 | | | | Income tax benefit (expense) | | — | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (16,426) | | | (16,426) | | | | Equity income (loss) from unconsolidated joint ventures | | (4,032) | | | 5,059 | | | — | | | 1,400 | | | — | | | 2,427 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Net income (loss) | | $ | 138,697 | | | $ | 308,630 | | | $ | (2,332) | | | $ | 2,470 | | | $ | (283,572) | | | $ | 163,893 | | |
______________________________________________________________________________ (1)Represents straight-line rents, amortization of market lease intangibles, net, actuarial reserves for insurance claims that have been incurred but not reported, deferral of community fees, and termination fees. Includes the Company’s share of income (loss) generated by unconsolidated joint ventures and excludes noncontrolling interests’ share of income (loss) generated by consolidated joint ventures. For the six months ended June 30, 2023: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Outpatient Medical | | Lab | | CCRC | | Other Non-reportable | | Corporate Non-segment | | Total | | Total revenues | | $ | 373,628 | | | $ | 428,770 | | | $ | 257,268 | | | $ | 11,442 | | | $ | — | | | $ | 1,071,108 | | Government grant income(1) | | — | | | — | | | 184 | | | — | | | — | | | 184 | | | Less: Interest income and other | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (11,442) | | | — | | | (11,442) | | | Healthpeak’s share of unconsolidated joint venture total revenues | | 1,498 | | | 4,093 | | | — | | | 40,607 | | | — | | | 46,198 | | | Healthpeak’s share of unconsolidated joint venture government grant income | | — | | | — | | | — | | | 229 | | | — | | | 229 | | | Noncontrolling interests’ share of consolidated joint venture total revenues | | (17,628) | | | (294) | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (17,922) | | | Operating expenses | | (129,749) | | | (112,397) | | | (202,779) | | | — | | | — | | | (444,925) | | | Healthpeak’s share of unconsolidated joint venture operating expenses | | (595) | | | (2,030) | | | — | | | (29,624) | | | — | | | (32,249) | | | Noncontrolling interests’ share of consolidated joint venture operating expenses | | 5,004 | | | 75 | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | 5,079 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Adjustments to NOI(2) | | (7,825) | | | (15,776) | | | (678) | | | (31) | | | — | | | (24,310) | | | Adjusted NOI | | 224,333 | | | 302,441 | | | 53,995 | | | 11,181 | | | — | | | 591,950 | | Plus: Adjustments to NOI(2) | | 7,825 | | | 15,776 | | | 678 | | | 31 | | | — | | | 24,310 | | | Interest income and other | | — | | | — | | | — | | | 11,442 | | | — | | | 11,442 | | | Interest expense | | (3,845) | | | — | | | (3,639) | | | — | | | (89,553) | | | (97,037) | | | Depreciation and amortization | | (142,881) | | | (168,817) | | | (65,100) | | | — | | | — | | | (376,798) | | | General and administrative | | — | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (50,483) | | | (50,483) | | | Transaction and merger-related costs | | (148) | | | (158) | | | (497) | | | — | | | (2,259) | | | (3,062) | | | Impairments and loan loss reserves, net | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (394) | | | — | | | (394) | | | Gain (loss) on sales of real estate, net | | 21,312 | | | 60,498 | | | — | | | 4,653 | | | — | | | 86,463 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Other income (expense), net | | 439 | | | 2 | | | 7 | | | (19) | | | 2,298 | | | 2,727 | | | Less: Government grant income | | — | | | — | | | (184) | | | — | | | — | | | (184) | | | Less: Healthpeak’s share of unconsolidated joint venture NOI | | (903) | | | (2,063) | | | — | | | (11,212) | | | — | | | (14,178) | | | Plus: Noncontrolling interests’ share of consolidated joint venture NOI | | 12,624 | | | 219 | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | 12,843 | | | Income (loss) before income taxes and equity income (loss) from unconsolidated joint ventures | | 118,756 | | | 207,898 | | | (14,740) | | | 15,682 | | | (139,997) | | | 187,599 | | | Income tax benefit (expense) | | — | | | — | | | — | | | — | | | (1,438) | | | (1,438) | | | Equity income (loss) from unconsolidated joint ventures | | 374 | | | 1,911 | | | — | | | 2,260 | | | — | | | 4,545 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Net income (loss) | | $ | 119,130 | | | $ | 209,809 | | | $ | (14,740) | | | $ | 17,942 | | | $ | (141,435) | | | $ | 190,706 | | ______________________________________________________________________________(1)Represents government grant income received under the CARES Act, which is recorded in other income (expense), net in the Consolidated Statements of Operations (see Note 2). (2)Represents straight-line rents, amortization of market lease intangibles, net, actuarial reserves for insurance claims that have been incurred but not reported, deferral of community fees, and termination fees. Includes the Company’s share of income (loss) generated by unconsolidated joint ventures and excludes noncontrolling interests’ share of income (loss) generated by consolidated joint ventures.
|