| Segment Information |
14. Segment Information
The
Company regularly reviews its segments and the approach used by management to evaluate performance and allocate resources. The Company
manages its operations through an evaluation of three distinct business segments: Cell Therapy, Degenerative Disease, and BioBanking.
The chief operating decision maker uses the revenues and earnings (losses) of the operating segments, among other factors, for performance
evaluation and resource allocation among these segments.
The
reportable segments were determined based on the distinct nature of the activities performed by each segment. Cell Therapy broadly refers
to therapies the Company is researching and developing. Therapies being researched are unproven and in various phases of development.
Degenerative Disease produces, sells and licenses products used in surgical and wound care markets. BioBanking collects stem cells from
umbilical cords and placentas and provides storage of such cells on behalf of individuals for future use.
The
Company manages its assets on a total company basis, not by operating segment. Therefore, the chief operating decision maker does not
regularly review any asset information or related income statement effects by operating segment and, accordingly, asset information is
not reported by operating segment. Total assets were $128,840 and $143,889 as of September 30, 2024 and December 31, 2023, respectively.
Financial
information by segment for the three months ended September 30, 2024 and 2023 is as follows:
Schedule
of Financial Information by Segment
| | |
Cell Therapy | | |
BioBanking | | |
Degenerative Disease | | |
Other | | |
Total | |
| | |
Three Months Ended September 30, 2024 | |
| | |
Cell Therapy | | |
BioBanking | | |
Degenerative Disease | | |
Other | | |
Total | |
| Net revenues | |
$ | - | | |
$ | 1,292 | | |
$ | 8,004 | | |
$ | - | | |
$ | 9,296 | |
| Cost of revenues (excluding amortization of acquired intangible assets) | |
| - | | |
| 238 | | |
| 3,645 | | |
| - | | |
| 3,883 | |
| Direct expenses | |
| 3,496 | | |
| 353 | | |
| 4,187 | | |
| 8,529 | | |
| 16,565 | |
| Segment contribution | |
$ | (3,496 | ) | |
$ | 701 | | |
$ | 172 | | |
$ | (8,529 | ) | |
$ | (11,152 | ) |
| Indirect expenses | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 375 | | (a) |
| 375 | |
| Loss from operations | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
$ | (11,527 | ) |
| | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | |
| (a) Components of other | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | |
| Amortization | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 375 | | |
| | |
| Total other | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
$ | 375 | | |
| | |
| | |
Cell Therapy | | |
BioBanking | | |
Degenerative Disease | | |
Other | | |
Total | |
| | |
Three Months Ended September 30, 2023 | |
| | |
Cell Therapy | | |
BioBanking | | |
Degenerative Disease | | |
Other | | |
Total | |
| Net revenues | |
$ | - | | |
$ | 1,427 | | |
$ | 2,359 | | |
$ | - | | |
$ | 3,786 | |
| Cost of revenues (excluding amortization of acquired intangible assets) | |
| - | | |
| 398 | | |
| 3,204 | | |
| - | | |
| 3,602 | |
| Direct expenses | |
| 4,887 | | |
| 350 | | |
| 1,901 | | |
| 9,074 | | |
| 16,212 | |
| Segment contribution | |
$ | (4,887 | ) | |
$ | 679 | | |
$ | (2,746 | ) | |
$ | (9,074 | ) | |
$ | (16,028 | ) |
| Indirect expenses | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 83,228 | | (b) |
| 83,228 | |
| Loss from operations | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
$ | (99,256 | ) |
| | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | |
| (b) Components of other | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | |
| Change in fair value of contingent stock consideration | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| (39 | ) | |
| | |
| Goodwill impairment | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 82,714 | | |
| | |
| Amortization | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 553 | | |
| | |
| Total other | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
$ | 83,228 | | |
| | |
Financial
information by segment for the nine months ended September 30, 2024 and 2023 is as follows:
| | |
Cell Therapy | | |
BioBanking | | |
Degenerative Disease | | |
Other | | |
Total | |
| | |
Nine Months Ended September 30, 2024 | |
| | |
Cell Therapy | | |
BioBanking | | |
Degenerative Disease | | |
Other | | |
Total | |
| Net revenues | |
$ | - | | |
$ | 3,857 | | |
$ | 32,231 | | |
$ | - | | |
$ | 36,088 | |
| Cost of revenues (excluding amortization of acquired intangible assets) | |
| - | | |
| 952 | | |
| 6,694 | | |
| - | | |
| 7,646 | |
| Direct expenses | |
| 12,383 | | |
| 1,216 | | |
| 14,385 | | |
| 28,159 | | |
| 56,143 | |
| Segment contribution | |
$ | (12,383 | ) | |
$ | 1,689 | | |
$ | 11,152 | | |
$ | (28,159 | ) | |
$ | (27,701 | ) |
| Indirect expenses | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 1,377 | | (a) |
| 1,377 | |
| Loss from operations | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
$ | (29,078 | ) |
| | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | |
| (a) Components of other | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | |
| Amortization | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 1,377 | | |
| | |
| Total other | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
$ | 1,377 | | |
| | |
| | |
Cell Therapy | | |
BioBanking | | |
Degenerative Disease | | |
Other | | |
``Total | |
| | |
Nine Months Ended September 30, 2023 | |
| | |
Cell Therapy | | |
BioBanking | | |
Degenerative Disease | | |
Other | | |
Total | |
| Net revenues | |
$ | - | | |
$ | 4,062 | | |
$ | 6,597 | | |
$ | - | | |
$ | 10,659 | |
| Cost of revenues (excluding amortization of acquired intangible assets) | |
| - | | |
| 1,355 | | |
| 5,052 | | |
| - | | |
| 6,407 | |
| Direct expenses | |
| 53,505 | | |
| 780 | | |
| 6,799 | | |
| 31,481 | | |
| 92,565 | |
| Segment contribution | |
$ | (53,505 | ) | |
$ | 1,927 | | |
$ | (5,254 | ) | |
$ | (31,481 | ) | |
$ | (88,313 | ) |
| Indirect expenses | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 117,289 | | (b) |
| 117,289 | |
| Loss from operations | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
$ | (205,602 | ) |
| | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | |
| (b) Components of other | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | |
| Change in fair value of contingent consideration liability | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| (104,339 | ) | |
| | |
| Change in fair value of contingent stock consideration | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| (159 | ) | |
| | |
| Goodwill impairment | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 112,347 | | |
| | |
| IPR&D impairment | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 107,800 | | |
| | |
| Amortization | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 1,640 | | |
| | |
| Total other | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
$ | 117,289 | | |
| | |
|
18.
Segment Information
The
Company regularly reviews its segments and the approach used by management to evaluate performance and allocate resources. Prior to the
third quarter of 2020, Legacy Celularity managed operations as one segment. In the third quarter of 2020, the Company began to manage
its operations through an evaluation of three distinct business segments: Cell Therapy, Degenerative Disease, and BioBanking. This change
was prompted by certain organizational and personnel changes. The chief operating decision maker uses the revenues and earnings of the
operating segments, among other factors, for performance evaluation and resource allocation among these segments.
The
reportable segments were determined based on the distinct nature of the activities performed by each segment. Cell Therapy broadly refers
to therapies the Company is researching and developing. Therapies being researched are unproven and in various phases of development.
Degenerative Disease produces, sells and licenses products used in surgical and wound care markets. Biobanking collects stem cells from
umbilical cords and placentas and provides storage of such cells on behalf of individuals for future use.
The
Company manages its assets on a total company basis, not by operating segment. Therefore, the chief operating decision maker does not
regularly review any asset information by operating segment and, accordingly, asset information is not reported by operating segment.
Total assets were approximately $143,889 and $401,066 as of December 31, 2023 and 2022, respectively.
Financial
information by segment is as follows:
Schedule
of Financial Information by Segment
| | |
Cell Therapy | | |
BioBanking | | |
Degenerative Disease | | |
Other | | |
Total | |
| | |
Year Ended December 31, 2023 | |
| | |
Cell Therapy | | |
BioBanking | | |
Degenerative Disease | | |
Other | | |
Total | |
| Net revenues | |
$ | — | | |
$ | 5,441 | | |
$ | 17,330 | | |
$ | — | | |
$ | 22,771 | |
| Gross profit | |
| — | | |
| 3,791 | | |
| 2,964 | | |
| — | | |
| 6,755 | |
| Direct expenses | |
| 28,694 | | |
| 1,752 | | |
| 9,720 | | |
| 40,876 | | |
| 81,041 | |
| Segment contribution | |
| (28,694 | ) | |
| 2,039 | | |
| (6,756 | ) | |
| (40,876 | ) | |
| (74,286 | ) |
| Indirect expenses | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 118,001 | | (a) |
| 118,001 | |
| Loss from operations | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
$ | (192,287 | ) |
| (a) Components of other | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | |
| Change in fair value of contingent consideration liability | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| (104,339 | ) | |
| | |
| Goodwill impairment | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 112,347 | | |
| | |
| IPR&D impairment | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 107,800 | | |
| | |
| Amortization | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 2,193 | | |
| | |
| Total other | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
$ | 118,001 | | |
| | |
| | |
Cell Therapy | | |
BioBanking | | |
Degenerative Disease | | |
Other | | |
Total | |
| | |
Year Ended December 31, 2022 | |
| | |
Cell Therapy | | |
BioBanking | | |
Degenerative Disease | | |
Other | | |
Total | |
| Net revenues | |
$ | — | | |
$ | 5,512 | | |
$ | 12,463 | | |
$ | — | | |
$ | 17,975 | |
| Gross profit | |
| — | | |
| 1,976 | | |
| (3,666 | ) | |
| — | | |
| (1,690 | ) |
| Direct expenses | |
| 75,379 | | |
| 1,699 | | |
| 10,859 | | |
| 56,261 | | |
| 144,198 | |
| Segment contribution | |
| (75,379 | ) | |
| 277 | | |
| (14,525 | ) | |
| (56,261 | ) | |
| (145,888 | ) |
| Indirect expenses | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| (120,288 | ) | (b) |
| (120,288 | ) |
| Loss from operations | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
$ | (25,600 | ) |
| (b) Components of other | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | |
| Change in fair value of contingent consideration liability | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| (126,277 | ) | |
| | |
| Change in fair value of contingent stock consideration | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 186 | | |
| | |
| Goodwill impairment | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 3,610 | | |
| | |
| Amortization | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 2,193 | | |
| | |
| Total other | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
$ | (120,288 | ) | |
| | |
|