v3.25.0.1
Financial Assets and Financial Liabilities
12 Months Ended
Dec. 31, 2024
Financial Instruments [Abstract]  
Financial Assets and Financial Liabilities Financial Assets and Financial Liabilities12.1 Capital Risk Management
Our capital management objectives are designed primarily to finance our growth strategy.
Our treasury committee reviews the total amount of cash and cash equivalents on a regular basis. As part of this
review, the committee considers total cash and cash equivalents, cash outflow, currency translation differences
and refinancing activities. We monitor cash using a burn rate. The cash burn rate is defined as the average
monthly net cash flow from operating and investing activities during a financial year.
(in millions €)
December 31, 2024
December 31, 2023
Cash at banks and on hand
450.0
453.1
Security investments disclosed as cash and cash equivalents
9,311.9
11,210.6
Bank deposits
1,849.4
2,589.5
Money market funds
6,947.5
7,446.1
Reverse Repo
515.0
1,175.0
Total
9,761.9
11,663.7
In general, the aim is to protect and maximize the financial resources available for further research and
development projects.
Since December 2021, we have had an investment and asset management policy in place that contains policies
and processes for managing cash and cash equivalents. Under this policy, our investment portfolio is to be
maintained in a manner that minimizes risks to the invested capital. These risks include mainly credit risk and
concentration risk. The portfolio must provide liquidity in a timely manner to accommodate operational and
capital needs. The portfolio is managed by the Treasury department.
We are not subject to externally imposed capital requirements. Our capital management objectives were
achieved in the years ended December 31, 2024 and 2023.
12.2 Categories of Financial Instruments
Financial Assets and Liabilities at Amortized Cost and at Fair Value through OCI and Profit or Loss
Set out below is an overview of financial assets and liabilities at amortized cost and at fair value through OCI and
profit or loss, as of the dates indicated:
December 31, 2024
Carrying amount
Fair value
(in millions €)
Current
Non-
current
Total
Level 1
(Fair value)
Level 2
(Fair value)
Level 3
(Fair value)
Total
Financial assets subsequently measured at fair
value through profit or loss
Foreign exchange forward contracts
11.9
—
11.9
—
11.9
—
11.9
Security investments disclosed as cash and cash
equivalents
6,947.5
—
6,947.5
6,947.5
—
—
6,947.5
Other financial assets
—
39.6
39.6
—
—
39.6
39.6
Financial assets subsequently measured at fair
value through OCI
Non-listed equity investments
—
1.5
1.5
—
—
1.5
1.5
Listed equity investments
—
92.7
92.7
92.7
—
—
92.7
Financial assets subsequently measured at
amortized costs(1)
Security investments disclosed as other financial
assets
6,536.2
1,061.1
7,597.3
—
—
—
7,597.3
Security investments disclosed as cash and cash
equivalents
2,364.4
—
2,364.4
—
—
—
2,364.4
Cash at banks and on hand
450.0
—
450.0
—
—
—
450.0
Trade and other receivables
1,463.9
—
1,463.9
—
—
—
1,463.9
Reimbursement asset
473.6
40.9
514.5
—
—
—
514.5
Other financial assets
—
18.2
18.2
—
—
—
18.2
Financial liabilities subsequently measured at
fair value
Foreign exchange forward contracts
16.3
—
16.3
—
16.3
—
16.3
Contingent consideration
0.9
46.9
47.8
—
—
47.8
47.8
Financial liabilities subsequently measured at
amortized costs(1)
Loans and borrowings
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
Trade payables and other payables
426.7
—
426.7
—
—
—
426.7
Other financial liabilities
1,426.2
—
1,426.2
—
—
—
1,426.2
Financial liabilities subsequently not measured
according to IFRS 9
Lease liabilities
39.5
214.7
254.2
—
—
—
254.2
(1)Fair values for financial assets and liabilities at amortized costs are not disclosed as the book values represent a
reasonable approximation.
December 31, 2023
Carrying amount
Fair value
(in millions €)
Current
Non-
current
Total
Level 1
(Fair value)
Level 2
(Fair value)
Level 3
(Fair value)
Total
Financial assets subsequently measured at fair
value through profit or loss
Security investments disclosed as cash and cash
equivalents
7,446.1
—
7,446.1
7,446.1
—
—
7,446.1
Financial assets subsequently measured at fair
value through OCI
Non-listed equity investments
—
27.1
27.1
—
—
27.1
27.1
Listed equity investments
—
26.0
26.0
26.0
—
—
26.0
Financial assets subsequently measured at
amortized costs(1)
Security investments disclosed as other financial
assets
4,885.1
1,104.6
5,989.7
—
—
—
5,989.7
Security investments disclosed as cash and cash
equivalents
3,764.5
—
3,764.5
—
—
—
3,764.5
Cash at banks and on hand
453.1
—
453.1
—
—
—
453.1
Trade and other receivables
2,155.7
—
2,155.7
—
—
—
2,155.7
Other financial assets
0.2
18.4
18.6
—
—
—
18.6
Financial liabilities subsequently measured at fair
value
Foreign exchange forward contracts
0.4
—
0.4
—
0.4
—
0.4
Contingent consideration
—
38.8
38.8
—
—
38.8
38.8
Financial liabilities subsequently measured at
amortized costs(1)
Loans and borrowings
—
2.3
2.3
—
—
—
2.3
Trade payables and other payables
354.0
—
354.0
—
—
—
354.0
Other financial liabilities
414.9
—
414.9
—
—
—
414.9
Financial liabilities subsequently not measured
according to IFRS 9
Lease liabilities
28.1
188.6
216.7
—
—
—
216.7
(1)Fair values for financial assets and liabilities at amortized costs are not disclosed as the book values represent a
reasonable approximation.
Trade and other receivables
Trade and other receivables significantly decreased compared to the previous year and predominantly comprise
trade receivables from our COVID-19 collaboration with Pfizer as well as our direct product sales to customers in
our territory. The contractual settlement of the gross profit share has a temporal offset of more than one calendar
quarter. As Pfizer’s financial quarter for subsidiaries outside the United States differs from ours, it creates an
additional time lag between the recognition of revenues and the payment receipt. Consequently, as of
December 31, 2024, our trade receivables included, in addition to the profit share for the fourth quarter of 2024,
trade receivables which related to the gross profit share for the third quarter of 2024.
Reimbursement asset
For the year ended December 31, 2024, we recognized a reimbursement asset in the amount of €514.5 million,
derived from the settlement as described below under other financial liabilities.
In connection with the Settlement Agreement with the National Institutes of Health, or the NIH, Pfizer has agreed
to reimburse us for $364.5 million (as of December 31, 2024, amounted to €350.9 million) of the claimed
royalties paid to the NIH for 2020-2023 sales under the Settlement Agreement.
In connection with the Term Sheet and the proposed Settlement Agreement with the University of Pennsylvania,
or UPenn, Pfizer has agreed to reimburse us for up to $170.0 million (as of December 31, 2024, amounts to
€163.6 million) of the claimed royalties payable to UPenn for 2020-2023 sales in connection with the proposed
Settlement Agreement.
Other financial liabilities
During the year ended December 31, 2024, the other financial liabilities increased compared to the year ended
December 31, 2023, which is essentially related to the settlement of the contractual disputes with the NIH and
UPenn in the amount of €1,146.9 million.
On December 20, 2024, we entered into a Settlement Agreement with the NIH. Under the terms of the
Settlement Agreement, we will, among other things, pay $791.5 million (as of December 31, 2024, amounts to
€761.9 million) to the NIH.
On December 23, 2024, we entered into a binding Term Sheet with UPenn to provide terms on which we retain
license rights under certain UPenn patent rights in order to allow it to continue to pursue development and
commercialization of Licensed Products. Under the terms of the Term Sheet, we and UPenn intend to enter into
a Settlement Agreement, pursuant to which we would, among other things, pay $400.0 million (as of
December 31, 2024, amounts to €385.0 million) as royalties for calendar years 2020-2023 to UPenn as well as
$52.0 million as a contribution to a research and development investment fund to be jointly managed by us and
UPenn.
Equity investments designated at Fair Value through OCI
Financial investments in equity securities measured at fair value through other comprehensive income comprise
the following effects:
Years ended
December 31,
(in millions €)
2024
2023
2022
Net gain / (loss) on equity instruments designated at fair value through other
comprehensive income
(146.6)
3.7
10.5
Total
(146.6)
3.7
10.5
During the year ended December 31, 2024, the non-listed and listed equity investments increased by
€41.1 million compared to year-end 2023 mainly due to our investment in Autolus Therapeutics plc in February
2024 and offsetting subsequent fair value changes amounting to €146.6 million during the year ended
December 31, 2024.
Measurement of fair values
The following table shows the valuation techniques used in measuring fair values for financial instruments in our
consolidated statements of financial position, as well as the significant unobservable inputs used.
12.3 Recurring Fair Values (Level 3)
The following table shows the recurring fair value measurement of the royalty assets included in other financial
assets as well as contingent considerations and the effect of the measurements on our consolidated statements
of profit or loss for the current period.
Financial assets
Financial liabilities
(in millions €)
Other financial assets
Contingent
consideration
As of January 1, 2023
—
(6.1)
Additions
—
(31.8)
Net effect on profit or loss - Finance income / (expense)
Net change in fair value
—
(0.9)
As of December 31, 2023
—
(38.8)
As of January 1, 2024
—
(38.8)
Additions
43.4
—
Disposals
—
—
Net effect on profit or loss - Finance income / (expense)
Net change in fair value
(3.8)
(9.0)
As of December 31, 2024
39.6
(47.8)
The sensitivity of the fair values of contingent considerations in fair value level 3 to the significant, unobservable,
variable input factors, with all other factors remaining constant, is shown in the following table:
Contingent consideration
Input factor
Change in
assumptions
Change in fair value with
increasing input factor
(in millions €)
Change in fair value with
decreasing input factor
(in millions €)
Cash flow projections
10%
4.4
(4.4)
Discount rate
1%
(0.6)
0.6
The sensitivity of the fair values of royalty assets included in other financial assets to the significant,
unobservable, variable input factors, with all other factors remaining constant, is shown in the following table:
Royalty assets
Input factor
Change in
assumptions
Change in fair value with
increasing input factor
(in millions €)
Change in fair value with
decreasing input factor
(in millions €)
Cash flow projections
10%
4.1
(4.1)
Discount rate
1%
(3.1)
3.5
The estimated fair value of non-listed equity investments would, for example, increase (decrease) if the price of
the latest financing round of the respective investment were to increase (decrease) and the overall company
value were higher (lower).
12.4 Financial Instruments Risk Management Objectives and Policies
Our financial liabilities mainly comprise obligations derived from other financial liabilities such as obligation from
transactions with licensors, trade and other payables, lease liabilities, contingent consideration, liabilities from
exchanges forward contracts. The main purpose of these financial liabilities is to enable our operations. Our
principal financial assets include mainly cash, security investments, trade receivables and reimbursement assets
that derive directly from our operations.
We are exposed to market risk, credit risk and liquidity risk. Our Management Board oversees the management
of these risks.
The treasury committee provides assurance to our Management Board that our financial risk activities are
governed by appropriate policies and procedures and that financial risks are identified, measured and managed
in accordance with our policies and risk objectives. The Management Board reviews and agrees policies for
managing each of these risks, which are summarized below.
12.5 Market Risks
Market risks address the risks that the fair value or future cash flows of a financial instrument will fluctuate due to
changes in market prices. Market risks comprise three types of risk: interest risks, foreign currency risks and
other price risks. Financial instruments affected by market risks include financial assets such as security
investments, trade and other receivables, cash and cash equivalents as well as financial liabilities such as trade
payables and other financial liabilities. We do not consider interest risks as well as other price risks as material
risks to us.
There were no material changes in the way the risks were managed and valued during the years ended
December 31, 2024 and 2023.
Foreign Currency Risks
Foreign currency risks address the risks that the fair value or future cash flows of an exposure will fluctuate
because of changes in foreign exchange rates. We are subject to currency risks, as our income and
expenditures are denominated in Euro and the U.S. dollar. As such, we are exposed to exchange rate
fluctuations between these currencies. Cash inflows denominated in U.S. dollar mainly result from generating
proceeds under our collaboration agreements. Our commercial revenues are primarily collaboration revenues
from earnings based on our partners’ gross profit, which is shared under the respective collaboration agreements
and represents payments we receive in U.S. dollar. Cash outflows dominated in U.S. dollar mainly result from
amounts spent on research and development activities and license obligations as well as expanding our global
footprint further. With the aim of preserving capital, surplus liquidity is mainly invested in domestic currency
investments as exchange rate fluctuations can reduce the value of our financial positions. We limit the effects of
the identified risks by means of a coordinated and consistently implemented risk strategy. Besides applying
natural hedging relationships where possible, foreign exchange forward contracts are concluded, as a matter of
principle, as instruments to mitigate foreign currency exchange risk associated with foreign currency-
denominated payments. However, the foreign exchange forward contracts which we entered into were not
designated as hedging instruments under IFRS.
The carrying amount of the monetary assets and liabilities denominated in U.S. dollar at the dates indicated are
as follows:
(in millions €)
December 31, 2024
December 31, 2023
Cash and cash equivalents in U.S. dollar
617.6
122.6
Monetary assets in U.S. dollar
1,484.7
1,191.9
Monetary liabilities and provisions in U.S. dollar
1,858.1
567.3
Total
244.2
747.2
The following tables demonstrate the sensitivity to a reasonable, possible change in U.S. dollar exchange rates
or U.S. dollar forward rates, with all other variables held constant. The impact on our profit before tax is due to
changes in the fair value of monetary assets and liabilities. The exposure to foreign currency changes for all
other currencies is not material.
1 € =
Closing rate
Average rate
Currency
Country
2024
2023
2024
2023
U.S. dollar
United States
1.0389
1.1050
1.0824
1.0813
(in millions €)
Change in U.S.
dollar rate
Effect on profit /
(loss) before tax
Effect on pre-tax
equity
2024
+5 %
(11.6)
(11.6)
-5 %
12.9
12.9
2023
+5 %
(35.5)
(35.5)
-5 %
39.2
39.3
12.6 Credit Risk Management
Credit risks address the risks that a counterparty will not meet its obligations under a financial instrument or
customer contract, leading to a financial loss. We are exposed to credit risks from our operating activities,
including security investments, bank deposits, reverse repos, foreign exchange transactions, trade and other
receivables and cash at banks. The maximum exposure to credit risk for the components of the consolidated
statements of financial position as of December 31, 2024, and December 31, 2023, are the carrying amounts as
illustrated in Note 12.1 and Note 12.2.
Security Investments, Bank Deposits, Reverse Repos and Cash at banks
Our financial management is dedicated predominantly to the goal of capital preservation. Thus, all our financial
activities are focused towards avoiding risks and, where they cannot be avoided, actively managing and
minimizing them. Credit risks from balances with security investments, bank deposits, reverse repos and cash at
banks are managed by our Treasury department in accordance with our investment and asset management
policy.
Our security investments are solely invested in the highest-quality liquid assets (e.g. core European sovereign,
supranational and agency bonds) and bank deposits with a maturity of more than 3 months (held at selected
banks, exclusively rated as investment grade). They do not bear any currency risks or material credit risks. The
bank deposits are held at selected banks, exclusively rated as investment grade. We limit our investment
engagements individually and track each credit risk continuously. For reverse repos, only investment-grade
counterparties qualify as our business partners and secured investments are solely collateralized by high-quality
liquid assets.
Accordingly, credit risks from these financial assets are limited. Before entering into new business relationships
and during ongoing business relationships, we evaluate our business partners with regard to their individual
default risk. Therefore, we do not presume an increased credit risk as of the balance sheet date and determine
the impairment loss based on the upcoming twelve months.
The calculated expected credit losses were not material as of December 31, 2024, and December 31, 2023.
Trade and Other Receivables
Our exposure to credit risks of trade and other receivables is primarily related to transactions with corporate
customers in the biopharma / biotech industry that operate in the United States or Germany, as well as
governments which are customers, in connection with fulfilling our commercial obligations in our territories as
defined in our contracts with customers. An analysis of the aging of receivables and the creditworthiness of
customers is used to evaluate this risk at each reporting date. We follow risk control procedures to assess the
credit quality of our customers taking into account their financial position, past experience and other factors.
As of December 31, 2024, outstanding trade and other receivables were mainly due from our collaboration
partner Pfizer. Besides well-established pharmaceutical companies and governmental institutions, our other
customers – to a smaller extent – are medical universities, other public institutions and peers in the biopharma
industry. The balances with those customers are not material. Due to this customer portfolio, the credit risk on
trade and other receivables is generally very low. We have not incurred material bad debt expense and do not
expect that this will change with respect to the trade and other receivables outstanding as of December 31,
2024.
The expected credit risk on trade and other receivables and contract assets derived from applying the simplified
approach in calculating expected credit losses was not material as of December 31, 2024, and December 31,
2023.12.7 Liquidity Risk
We plan to invest heavily in R&D as we make a strong drive to build out our global development organization
and diversify our therapeutic area footprint. Additionally, we plan to enhance capabilities through complementary
acquisitions, technologies, infrastructure and manufacturing. Our liquidity management ensures the availability of
cash and cash equivalents, short term financial instruments for operational activities and further investments
through appropriate budget planning. In addition, a sufficient level of cash and cash equivalents, which are
managed centrally, is always maintained to finance the operational activities.
We monitor liquidity risks using a liquidity planning tool.
Ultimately, the responsibility for liquidity risk management lies with our Management Board, which has
established an appropriate approach to managing short-, medium- and long-term financing and liquidity
requirements. We manage liquidity risks by holding appropriate reserves based on our COVID-19 sales, as well
as by monitoring forecasted and actual cash flows and reconciling the maturity profiles of financial assets and
liabilities. Significant reserves currently exist and were generated during the Covid-19 pandemic.
Risk Concentration
Concentrations arise when the number of counterparties is small or when a larger number of counterparties is
engaged in similar business activities, or activities in the same geographical region, or has economic features
that would cause their ability to meet contractual obligations to be affected similarly by changes in economic,
political or other conditions. Concentrations indicate the relative sensitivity of our performance to developments
affecting a particular industry. We only have a limited number of customers mainly comprising pharmaceutical
companies and governmental institutions.
The maturity profile of our financial liabilities based on contractual undiscounted payments is summarized as
follows:
Year ended December 31, 2024
(in millions €)
Less than
1 year
1 to 5
years
More than
5 years
Total
Trade and other payables
426.7
—
—
426.7
Lease liabilities
48.1
152.7
90.3
291.1
Contingent consideration
—
62.5
0.1
62.6
Foreign exchange forward contracts
16.3
—
—
16.3
Other financial liabilities
1,426.2
—
—
1,426.2
Total
1,917.3
215.2
90.4
2,222.9
Year ended December 31, 2023
(in millions €)
Less than
1 year
1 to 5
years
More than
5 years
Total
Loans and borrowings
—
2.3
—
2.3
Trade and other payables
354.0
—
—
354.0
Lease liabilities
34.1
136.6
73.7
244.4
Contingent consideration
—
57.5
0.3
57.8
Foreign exchange forward contracts
0.4
—
—
0.4
Other financial liabilities
414.9
—
—
414.9
Total
803.4
196.4
74.0
1,073.8
12.8 Changes in Liabilities Arising from Financing Activities
Year ended December 31, 2024
(in millions €)
January 1,
2024
Cash flows
New leases
and
disposals
Reclassifi-
cation
Other
December
31, 2024
Current obligations under
lease contracts
28.1
(43.6)
19.4
35.6
—
39.5
Non-current obligations
under lease contracts
188.6
—
56.0
(35.6)
5.7
214.7
Loans and borrowings
2.3
(2.3)
—
—
—
—
Total
219.0
(45.9)
75.4
—
5.7
254.2
Year ended December 31, 2023
(in millions €)
January 1,
2023
Cash flows
New leases
and
disposals
Reclassifi-
cation
Other
December
31, 2023
Current obligations under
lease contracts
36.0
(40.3)
(0.6)
34.1
(1.1)
28.1
Non-current obligations
under lease contracts
174.1
—
51.1
(34.1)
(2.5)
188.6
Loans and borrowings
2.1
0.2
—
—
—
2.3
Total
212.2
(40.1)
50.5
—
(3.6)
219.0