v3.25.1
Medical Claims Liability
3 Months Ended
Mar. 31, 2025
Insurance [Abstract]  
Medical Claims Liability Medical Claims Liability
The following table summarizes the change in medical claims liability for the three months ended March 31, 2025 ($ in millions):
 MedicaidMedicareCommercialOtherConsolidated Total
Balance, January 1, 2025
$10,299 $3,358 $4,463 $188 $18,308 
Less: Reinsurance recoverable18 — 47 — 65 
Balance, January 1, 2025, net
10,281 3,358 4,416 188 18,243 
Incurred related to:
Current year21,419 7,553 7,972 514 37,458 
Prior years(576)(176)(365)(16)(1,133)
Total incurred20,843 7,377 7,607 498 36,325 
Paid related to:
Current year12,996 5,243 4,731 359 23,329 
Prior years6,849 1,923 2,648 150 11,570 
Total paid19,845 7,166 7,379 509 34,899 
Plus: Premium deficiency reserve— 178 — — 178 
Balance, March 31, 2025, net
11,279 3,747 4,644 177 19,847 
Plus: Reinsurance recoverable18 — 46 — 64 
Balance, March 31, 2025
$11,297 $3,747 $4,690 $177 $19,911 

The following table summarizes the change in medical claims liability for the three months ended March 31, 2024 ($ in millions):
 MedicaidMedicareCommercialOtherConsolidated Total
Balance, January 1, 2024
$10,814 $3,612 $3,460 $114 $18,000 
Less: Reinsurance recoverable5 — 44 — 49 
Balance, January 1, 2024, net
10,809 3,612 3,416 114 17,951 
Incurred related to:
Current year20,179 5,495 5,884 373 31,931 
Prior years(684)(156)(204)(5)(1,049)
Total incurred19,495 5,339 5,680 368 30,882 
Paid related to:
Current year12,823 3,266 3,339 258 19,686 
Prior years6,993 2,050 1,973 108 11,124 
Total paid19,816 5,316 5,312 366 30,810 
Plus: Premium deficiency reserve— 50 — — 50 
Balance, March 31, 2024, net
10,488 3,685 3,784 116 18,073 
Plus: Reinsurance recoverable4 — 32 — 36 
Balance, March 31, 2024
$10,492 $3,685 $3,816 $116 $18,109 

Reinsurance recoverables related to medical claims are included in premium and trade receivables. Changes in estimates of incurred claims for prior years are primarily attributable to reserving under moderately adverse conditions. Additionally, as a result of development within "Incurred related to: Prior years," the Company recorded $34 million and $54 million as a reduction to premium revenue in the three months ended March 31, 2025 and 2024, respectively, for minimum medical loss ratio (MLR) and other return of premium programs.
Incurred but not reported (IBNR) plus expected development on reported claims as of March 31, 2025 was $13,389 million. Total IBNR plus expected development on reported claims represents estimates for claims incurred but not reported, development on reported claims and estimates for the costs necessary to process unpaid claims at the end of each period. The Company estimates its liability using actuarial methods that are commonly used by health insurance actuaries and meet Actuarial Standards of Practice. These actuarial methods consider factors such as historical data for payment patterns, cost trends, product mix, seasonality, utilization of healthcare services and other relevant factors.

The Company reviews actual and anticipated experience compared to the assumptions used to establish medical costs. The Company establishes premium deficiency reserves if actual and anticipated experience indicates that existing policy liabilities together with the present value of future gross premiums will not be sufficient to cover the present value of future benefits, settlement and maintenance costs. For purposes of determining premium deficiencies, contracts are grouped in a manner consistent with the method of acquiring, servicing and measuring the profitability of such contracts and expected investment income is excluded. In December 2024, the Company recorded a premium deficiency reserve of $92 million related to the 2025 Medicare Advantage contract year. In the first quarter of 2025, the premium deficiency reserve was increased to $270 million due to the intra-year flow of seasonality, including anticipated impacts of the Inflation Reduction Act to the Part D benefit within the Company's Medicare Advantage business. In December 2023, the Company recorded a premium deficiency reserve of $250 million related to the 2024 Medicare Advantage contract year, which was increased to $300 million in the first quarter of 2024 due to the intra-year flow of seasonality.