FINANCING AND FINANCIAL INSTRUMENTS (Tables)
|
12 Months Ended |
Dec. 31, 2025 |
| Financial Instruments [Abstract] |
|
| Disclosure of Assets Based on Categories |
The following table summarizes assets and liabilities based on their categories at December 31, 2025: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Carrying amount in the consolidated statements of financial position | | Non- financial assets and liabilities | | Assets / Liabilities at amortized cost | | Fair value recognized in profit or loss | | Fair value recognized in OCI | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Cash and cash equivalents | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Trade accounts receivable and other | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Prepaid expenses and other current assets | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Goodwill and intangible assets | | | | | | | | | | | | Property, plant and equipment and biological assets | | | | | | | | | | | | Investments in associates and joint ventures | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Short-term debt and current portion of long-term debt | | | | | | | | | | | | Trade accounts payable and other | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Accrued expenses and other liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Liabilities held for sale | | | | | | | | | | | | Total current liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Long-term debt, net of current portion | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Deferred employee benefits | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Other long-term obligations | | | | | | | | | | | | Total non-current liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Equity attributable to the equity holders of the parent | | | | | | | | | | | | Non-controlling interests | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Total liabilities and equity | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Carrying amount in the consolidated statements of financial position | | Non-financial assets and liabilities | | Assets / Liabilities at amortized cost | | Fair value recognized in profit or loss | | Fair value recognized in OCI | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Cash and cash equivalents | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Trade accounts receivable and other | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Prepaid expenses and other current assets | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Goodwill and intangible assets | | | | | | | | | | | | Property, plant and equipment and biological assets | | | | | | | | | | | | Investments in associates and joint ventures | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Short-term debt and current portion of long-term debt | | | | | | | | | | | | Trade accounts payable and other | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Accrued expenses and other liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Total current liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Long-term debt, net of current portion | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Deferred employee benefits | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Other long-term obligations | | | | | | | | | | | | Total non-current liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Equity attributable to the equity holders of the parent | | | | | | | | | | | | Non-controlling interests | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Total liabilities and equity | | | | | | | | | | | |
|
| Disclosure of Liabilities Based on Categories |
The following table summarizes assets and liabilities based on their categories at December 31, 2025: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Carrying amount in the consolidated statements of financial position | | Non- financial assets and liabilities | | Assets / Liabilities at amortized cost | | Fair value recognized in profit or loss | | Fair value recognized in OCI | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Cash and cash equivalents | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Trade accounts receivable and other | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Prepaid expenses and other current assets | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Goodwill and intangible assets | | | | | | | | | | | | Property, plant and equipment and biological assets | | | | | | | | | | | | Investments in associates and joint ventures | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Short-term debt and current portion of long-term debt | | | | | | | | | | | | Trade accounts payable and other | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Accrued expenses and other liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Liabilities held for sale | | | | | | | | | | | | Total current liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Long-term debt, net of current portion | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Deferred employee benefits | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Other long-term obligations | | | | | | | | | | | | Total non-current liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Equity attributable to the equity holders of the parent | | | | | | | | | | | | Non-controlling interests | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Total liabilities and equity | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Carrying amount in the consolidated statements of financial position | | Non-financial assets and liabilities | | Assets / Liabilities at amortized cost | | Fair value recognized in profit or loss | | Fair value recognized in OCI | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Cash and cash equivalents | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Trade accounts receivable and other | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Prepaid expenses and other current assets | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Goodwill and intangible assets | | | | | | | | | | | | Property, plant and equipment and biological assets | | | | | | | | | | | | Investments in associates and joint ventures | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Short-term debt and current portion of long-term debt | | | | | | | | | | | | Trade accounts payable and other | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Accrued expenses and other liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Total current liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Long-term debt, net of current portion | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Deferred employee benefits | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Other long-term obligations | | | | | | | | | | | | Total non-current liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Equity attributable to the equity holders of the parent | | | | | | | | | | | | Non-controlling interests | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Total liabilities and equity | | | | | | | | | | | |
|
| Disclosure of Fair Value Measurement of Assets |
The following tables summarize the bases used to measure certain financial assets and financial liabilities at their fair value on recurring basis. | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Investments in equity instruments at FVOCI | | | | | | | | | Trade accounts receivable and other subject to TSR programs* | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial current assets | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial non-current assets | | | | | | | | | Total assets at fair value | | | | | | | | | Liabilities at fair value: | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial current liabilities | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial non-current liabilities | | | | | | | | | Total liabilities at fair value | | | | | | | | |
*The fair value of TSR program receivables equals carrying amount due to the short time frame between the initial recognition and time of sale. | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Investments in equity instruments at FVOCI | | | | | | | | | Trade accounts receivable and other subject to TSR programs* | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial current assets | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial non-current assets | | | | | | | | | Total assets at fair value | | | | | | | | | Liabilities at fair value: | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial current liabilities | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial non-current liabilities | | | | | | | | | Total liabilities at fair value | | | | | | | | |
*The fair value of TSR program receivables equals carrying amount due to the short time frame between the initial recognition and time of sale. The following table summarizes the reconciliation of the fair value of the financial instrument classified as Level 3: | | | | | | Balance as of December 31, 2023 | | | | | | Balance as of December 31, 2024 | | | | | | Balance as of December 31, 2025 | | |
|
| Disclosure of Fair Value Measurement of Liabilities |
The following tables summarize the bases used to measure certain financial assets and financial liabilities at their fair value on recurring basis. | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Investments in equity instruments at FVOCI | | | | | | | | | Trade accounts receivable and other subject to TSR programs* | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial current assets | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial non-current assets | | | | | | | | | Total assets at fair value | | | | | | | | | Liabilities at fair value: | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial current liabilities | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial non-current liabilities | | | | | | | | | Total liabilities at fair value | | | | | | | | |
*The fair value of TSR program receivables equals carrying amount due to the short time frame between the initial recognition and time of sale. | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Investments in equity instruments at FVOCI | | | | | | | | | Trade accounts receivable and other subject to TSR programs* | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial current assets | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial non-current assets | | | | | | | | | Total assets at fair value | | | | | | | | | Liabilities at fair value: | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial current liabilities | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial non-current liabilities | | | | | | | | | Total liabilities at fair value | | | | | | | | |
*The fair value of TSR program receivables equals carrying amount due to the short time frame between the initial recognition and time of sale. The following table summarizes the reconciliation of the fair value of the financial instrument classified as Level 3: | | | | | | Balance as of December 31, 2023 | | | | | | Balance as of December 31, 2024 | | | | | | Balance as of December 31, 2025 | | |
|
| Disclosure of Detailed Information About Borrowings |
Short-term debt, including the current portion of long-term debt, consisted of the following: | | | | | | | | | | Short-term bank loans and other credit facilities including commercial paper 1 | | | | Current portion of long-term debt | | | | | | | | | | | |
1.The weighted average interest rate on short-term borrowings outstanding was 3.8% and 5.0% as of December 31, 2025 and 2024, respectively. 2.See note 7. Long-term debt is comprised of the following: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Carrying amount at amortized cost | | | | | | | | | | | 5.5 billion Revolving Credit Facility | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | €750 million Unsecured Notes | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | €600 million Unsecured Notes | | | | | | | | | | 1.2 billion Unsecured Notes | | | | | | | | | | €500 million Unsecured Notes | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | €650 million Unsecured Notes | | | | | | | | | | €500 million Unsecured Notes | | | | | | | | | | 1.0 billion Unsecured Notes | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | 1.5 billion Unsecured Bonds | | | | | | | | | | 1.0 billion Unsecured Notes | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Less current portion of long-term debt | | | | | | | | | | Total long-term debt (excluding lease obligations) | | | | | | | | | | Long-term lease obligations2 | | | | | | | | | | Total long-term debt, net of current portion | | | | | | | | | |
1.Rates applicable to balances outstanding at December 31, 2025. For debt that has been redeemed in its entirety during 2025, the interest rates refer to the rates at repayment date. 2.Net of current portion of 214 and 182 as of December 31, 2025 and 2024, respectively. See note 7. The following table provides details of the outstanding bonds on maturity, the original coupons and the current interest rates for the bonds impacted by changes in the long-term credit rating: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Nominal amount of outstanding value | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | €600 million Unsecured Notes | | | | | | | | | | | | 1.2 billion Unsecured Bonds | | | | | | | | | | | | €500 million Unsecured Notes | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | €650 million Unsecured Notes | | | | | | | | | | | | €500 million Unsecured Notes | | | | | | | | | | | | 1.0 billion Unsecured Notes | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | 1.0 billion Unsecured Bonds | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | 1.0 billion Unsecured Notes | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
1.Rate applicable at December 31, 2025.
|
| Disclosure of Maturity Analysis for Non-derivative Financial Liabilities |
As of December 31, 2025 the scheduled maturities of short- term debt, long-term debt and long-term lease obligations, including their current portion are as follows: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Non-derivative financial liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | Foreign exchange contracts | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
1.Commodity contracts include base metals, freight, energy and emission rights. | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Non-derivative financial liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | Foreign exchange contracts | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
1.Commodity contracts include base metals, freight, energy and emission rights.
|
| Disclosure of Estimated Fair Value and Carrying Value of Debt |
The following tables summarize the Company’s bases used to estimate its debt at fair value. Fair value measurement has been classified into three levels based upon a fair value hierarchy that reflects the significance of the inputs used in making the measurements. | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Instruments payable bearing interest at fixed rates (excluding long and short-term lease liabilities) | | | | | | | | | | Instruments payable bearing interest at variable rates (excluding long and short-term lease liabilities) | | | | | | | | | | Total long-term debt, including current portion | | | | | | | | | | Short term bank loans and other credit facilities including commercial paper | | | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Instruments payable bearing interest at fixed rates (excluding long and short-term lease liabilities) | | | | | | | | | | Instruments payable bearing interest at variable rates (excluding long and short-term lease liabilities) | | | | | | | | | | Total long-term debt, including current portion | | | | | | | | | | Short term bank loans and other credit facilities including commercial paper | | | | | | | | | |
|
| Disclosure of Cash and Cash Equivalents |
Cash and cash equivalents consisted of the following: 1Money market funds are highly liquid investments with a maturity of 3 months or less from the date of acquisition.
|
| Reconciliation of Liabilities Arising from Financing Activities |
The table below details changes in the Company's liabilities arising from financing activities, including both cash and non- cash changes. Liabilities arising from financing activities are those for which cash flows were, or future cash flows will be classified in the Company's consolidated statements of cash flows from financing activities. | | | | | Long-term debt, net of current portion | | Short-term debt and current portion of long term debt | Balance as of December 31, 2023 (note 6.1.2) | | | | Proceeds from long-term debt | | | | Payments of long-term debt | | | | | | | | Proceeds from short-term debt | | | | Payments of short-term debt | | | | Current portion of long-term debt | | | | Payments of principal portion of lease liabilities (note 7) 1 | | | | Additions to lease liabilities (notes 5.2 and 7) | | | | Unrealized foreign exchange effects and other movements | | | | Balance as of December 31, 2024 (note 6.1.2) | | | | Proceeds from long-term debt | | | | Payments of long-term debt | | | | | | | | Proceeds from short-term debt | | | | Payments of short-term debt | | | | Current portion of long-term debt | | | | Payments of principal portion of lease liabilities (note 7) 1 | | | | Additions to lease liabilities (notes 5.2 and 7) | | | | Debt acquired through business combinations | | | | Unrealized foreign exchange effects and other movements | | | | Balance as of December 31, 2025 (note 6.1.2) | | | |
1.Cash payments decreasing the outstanding liability relating to leases are classified under payments of principal portion of lease liabilities and other financing activities in the Company's consolidated statements of cash flows.
|
| Schedule of Net Debt by Currency |
The Company monitors its net debt in order to manage its capital. The following tables present the structure of the Company’s net debt by original currency translated into USD at December 31, 2025 and December 31, 2024: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Short-term debt and current portion of long-term debt | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Long-term debt, net of current portion | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Cash and cash equivalents and restricted cash 1 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Short-term debt and current portion of long-term debt | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Long-term debt, net of current portion | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Cash and cash equivalents and restricted cash | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
1.Includes 3 cash held for sale see note 2.3.
|
| Disclosure of Detailed Information About Financial Instruments |
The following tables summarize this portfolio: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Interest rate instruments | | | | | | | | | | Other interest rate instruments | | | | | | | | | | Total interest rate instruments | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Foreign exchange rate instruments | | | | | | | | | | Forward purchase contracts | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Exchange option purchases | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Total foreign exchange rate instruments | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Raw materials (base metals), freight, energy, emission rights | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Total raw materials (base metals), freight, energy, emission rights | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
Fair values of raw material, freight, energy and emission rights instruments are categorized as Level 2 as follows: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Energy (oil, gas, electricity) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Derivative assets associated with raw materials, energy, freight and emission rights | | | | Derivative liabilities associated with raw materials, energy, freight and emission rights | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Interest rate instruments | | | | | | | | Other interest rate instruments | | | | | | | | Total interest rate instruments | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Foreign exchange rate instruments | | | | | | | | Forward purchase contracts | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Exchange option purchases | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Total foreign exchange rate instruments | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Raw materials (base metals), freight, energy, emission rights | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Total raw materials (base metals), freight, energy, emission rights | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
|
| Analysis of Financing Costs |
Financing costs - net recognized in the years ended December 31, 2025, 2024 and 2023 are as follows: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Accretion of defined benefit obligations and other long term liabilities | | | | | | Net foreign exchange gain/ (loss) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
1.Other mainly included expenses related to TSR programs and bank fees. In 2025 and 2023, Other included 101 and 66, respectively, relating to the term extension of mandatorily convertible bonds (see note 11.2). In 2024, Other included also 83 expense relating to the fair value at acquisition date of the forward in connection with the Vallourec acquisition (see note 2.4.2).
|
| Disclosure of Capital Management |
|
| Disclosure of Nature and Extent of Risks Arising from Financial Instruments |
The structure of trade receivables and trade payables by original currency translated in USD is as follows as of December 31, 2025:
|
| Sensitivity Analysis for Types of Market Risk |
The sensitivity analysis carried out by the Company considers the effects on its trade receivables and trade payables of a 10% increase or decrease between the relevant foreign currencies and the U.S. dollar. | | | | | | | | | | 10% strengthening in U.S. dollar | | | | 10% strengthening in Euro | | | | 10% weakening in U.S. dollar | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | 10% strengthening in U.S. dollar | | | | 10% strengthening in Euro | | | | 10% weakening in U.S. dollar | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | Floating portion of net debt1 | | Interest Rate Swaps/ Forward Rate Agreements | | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | Floating portion of net debt1 | | Interest Rate Swaps/ Forward Rate Agreements | | | | | | | | |
1.See note 6.1.4 for a description of net debt (including fixed and floating portion). The following tables detail the Company’s sensitivity to a 10% increase and decrease in the price of the relevant base metals, energy, freight and emissions rights. The sensitivity analysis includes only outstanding, un-matured derivative instruments either held for trading at fair value through the consolidated statements of operations or designated in hedge accounting relationships. | | | | | | | | | Other Equity Cash Flow Hedging Reserves | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | Other Equity Cash Flow Hedging Reserves | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
|
| Disclosure of Maturity Analysis for Derivative Financial Liabilities |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Non-derivative financial liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | Foreign exchange contracts | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
1.Commodity contracts include base metals, freight, energy and emission rights. | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Non-derivative financial liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Derivative financial liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | Foreign exchange contracts | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
1.Commodity contracts include base metals, freight, energy and emission rights.
|
| Disclosure of Information About Terms and Conditions of Cash Flow Hedges |
The following tables present the periods in which the derivatives designated as cash flows hedges are expected to mature: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Foreign exchange contracts | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Foreign exchange contracts | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
The following table presents the periods in which the realized and unrealized gains or losses on derivatives designated as cash flows hedges recognized in other comprehensive income, net of tax, are expected to impact the consolidated statements of operations: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Foreign exchange contracts | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
1.The cash flow hedge reserve balance as of December 31, 2025 includes 185 deferred gains for the Company's share of such reserves at its equity method investments, which are not included in the table above (365 as of December 31, 2024). | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Foreign exchange contracts | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
1.The cash flow hedge reserve balance as of December 31, 2024 includes 365 deferred gains for the Company's share of such reserves at its equity method investments, which are not included in the table above (417 as of December 31, 2023).
|
| Disclosure of Detailed Information About Hedging Instruments |
The following tables summarize the effect of hedge accounting on ArcelorMittal’s consolidated statement of financial position, statement of comprehensive income and statement of changes in equity. | | | | | | | | | | | Nominal amount of the hedging instrument | | | | Liabilities carrying amount | | Line item in the statement of financial position where the hedging instrument is located | | | | | | | | | Foreign exchange risk - Option/forward/swap contracts | | | | | | | Prepaid expenses and other current assets/Accrued expenses and other liabilities | Foreign exchange risk - Option/forward/swap contracts | | | | | | | Other assets/Other long-term obligations | Price risk - Commodities Options/forwards | | | | | | | Prepaid expenses and other current assets/Accrued expenses and other liabilities | Price risk - Commodities Options/forwards | | | | | | | Other assets/Other long-term obligations | Price risk - Emission rights forwards | | | | | | | Prepaid expenses and other current assets/Accrued expenses and other liabilities | | | | | | | | | Current derivative assets classified as cash flow hedge | | | | | | | | Other current derivative assets | | | | | | | | Total current derivative assets (note 4.5) | | | | | | | | Non-current derivative assets classified as cash flow hedge | | | | | | | | Other non-current derivative assets | | | | | | | | Total non-current derivative assets (note 4.6) | | | | | | | | Current derivative liabilities classified as cash flow hedge | | | | | | | | Other current derivative liabilities | | | | | | | | Total current derivative liabilities (note 4.8) | | | | | | | | Non-current derivative liabilities classified as cash flow hedge | | | | | | | | Other non-current derivative liabilities | | | | | | | | Total non-current derivative liabilities (note 9.2) | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | Cash flow hedge reserve at December 31, 2024 | | Hedging gains or losses of the reporting period that were recognized in OCI | Gains or losses reclassification adjustment and hedge ineffectiveness | | | | Line item in the statement of comprehensive income that includes the reclassification adjustment and hedge ineffectiveness | Cash flow hedge reserve1 at December 31, 2025 | | | | | | | | | | | Foreign exchange risk - Option/Forward contracts | | | | | | | | | | Price risk - Commodities Option/Forward contracts | | | | | | | | | | Price risk - Emission rights forwards | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
1.The cash flow hedge reserve balance as of December 31, 2025 also included 185 deferred gains for the Company's share of such reserves at its equity method investments, which are not disclosed above. . | | | | | | | | | | | Nominal amount of the hedging instrument | | | | Liabilities carrying amount | | Line item in the statement of financial position where the hedging instrument is located | | | | | | | | | Foreign exchange risk - Option/ forward/swap contracts | | | | | | | Prepaid expenses and other current assets/Accrued expenses and other liabilities | Foreign exchange risk - Option/ forward/swap contracts | | | | | | | Other assets/Other long-term obligations | Price risk - Commodities Options/ forwards | | | | | | | Prepaid expenses and other current assets/Accrued expenses and other liabilities | Price risk - Commodities Options/ forwards | | | | | | | Other assets/Other long-term obligations | Price risk - Emission rights forwards | | | | | | | Prepaid expenses and other current assets/Accrued expenses and other liabilities | | | | | | | | | Current derivative assets classified as cash flow hedge | | | | | | | | Other current derivative assets | | | | | | | | Total current derivative assets (note 4.5) | | | | | | | | Non-current derivative assets classified as cash flow hedge | | | | | | | | Other non-current derivative assets | | | | | | | | Total non-current derivative assets (note 4.6) | | | | | | | | Current derivative liabilities classified as cash flow hedge | | | | | | | | Other current derivative liabilities | | | | | | | | Total current derivative liabilities (note 4.8) | | | | | | | | Non-current derivative liabilities classified as cash flow hedge | | | | | | | | Other non-current derivative liabilities | | | | | | | | Total non-current derivative liabilities (note 9.2) | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Cash flow hedge reserve at December 31, 2023 | | Hedging gains or losses of the reporting period that were recognized in OCI | | Gains or losses reclassification adjustment and hedge ineffectiveness | | | | Line item in the statement of comprehensive income that includes the reclassification adjustment and hedge ineffectiveness | | Cash flow hedge reserve1 at December 31, 2024 | | | | | | | | | | | | | Foreign exchange risk - Option/ Forward contracts | | | | | | | | | | | | Price risk - Commodities Option/ Forward contracts | | | | | | | | | | | | Price risk - Emission rights forwards | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
1.The cash flow hedge reserve balance as of December 31, 2024 also included 365 deferred gains for the Company's share of such reserves at its equity method investments, which are not disclosed above. The following tables summarizes the historical gain/loss that will be recycled to the consolidation statements of operations when the hedged assets are disposed of. | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Nominal amount of the hedging instrument | | | | Liabilities carrying amount | | Line item in the statement of financial position where the hedging instrument is located | | Change in value used for calculating hedge ineffectiveness for 2024 | | Line item in the statement of comprehensive income that includes the recognized hedge ineffectiveness | | Foreign currency translation reserve | | | | | | | | | | | | Foreign exchange risk - Cross Currency Swap | | | | | | | Accrued expenses and other liabilities | | | | | | | Foreign exchange risk - EUR debt | | | | | | | Short-term debt and current portion of long- term debt; long- term debt, net of current portion | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Nominal amount of the hedging instrument | | | | Liabilities carrying amount | | Line item in the statement of financial position where the hedging instrument is located | | Change in value used for calculating hedge ineffectiveness for 2023 | | Line item in the statement of comprehensive income that includes the recognized hedge ineffectiveness | | Foreign currency translation reserve | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Foreign exchange risk - Cross Currency Swap | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Foreign exchange risk - EUR debt | | | | | | | Short-term debt and current portion of long-term debt; long-term debt, net of current portion | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
|