v3.26.1
EATON SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY - Changes in Shareholders' Equity (Details) - USD ($)
shares in Millions, $ in Millions
3 Months Ended 6 Months Ended
Jun. 30, 2026
Mar. 31, 2026
Jun. 30, 2025
Mar. 31, 2025
Jun. 30, 2026
Jun. 30, 2025
Increase (Decrease) in Stockholders' Equity [Roll Forward]            
Balance at beginning of period $ 19,765 $ 19,469 $ 18,547 $ 18,531 $ 19,469 $ 18,531
Net income 823 868 982 965 1,690 1,947
Other comprehensive income (loss), net of tax 90 (118) 155 92 (28) 247
Cash dividends paid and accrued (428) (432) (407) (413)    
Issuance of shares under equity-based compensation plans 50 (21) 68 (19)    
Changes in noncontrolling interest of consolidated subsidiaries - net 1 (1) (1) (1)    
Repurchase of shares     (698) (608)    
Balance at end of period $ 20,299 $ 19,765 $ 18,647 $ 18,547 $ 20,299 $ 18,647
Common stock shares issued not disclosed true true true true true true
Number of authorized shares not disclosed true true true true true true
Total Eaton shareholders' equity            
Increase (Decrease) in Stockholders' Equity [Roll Forward]            
Balance at beginning of period $ 19,721 $ 19,425 $ 18,506 $ 18,488 $ 19,425 $ 18,488
Net income 821 866 982 964    
Other comprehensive income (loss), net of tax 90 (118) 155 92    
Cash dividends paid and accrued (427) (431) (407) (411)    
Issuance of shares under equity-based compensation plans 50 (21) 68 (19)    
Repurchase of shares     (698) (608)    
Balance at end of period $ 20,254 $ 19,721 $ 18,606 $ 18,506 $ 20,254 $ 18,606
Ordinary shares            
Increase (Decrease) in Stockholders' Equity [Roll Forward]            
Balance at beginning of period (in shares) 388.3 387.9 391.3 392.9 387.9 392.9
Balance at beginning of period $ 4 $ 4 $ 4 $ 4 $ 4 $ 4
Issuance of shares under equity-based compensation plans (in shares) 0.2 0.4 0.2 0.4    
Repurchase of shares (in shares)     (2.3) (1.9)    
Balance at end of period (in shares) 388.4 388.3 389.3 391.3 388.4 389.3
Balance at end of period $ 4 $ 4 $ 4 $ 4 $ 4 $ 4
Capital in excess of par value            
Increase (Decrease) in Stockholders' Equity [Roll Forward]            
Balance at beginning of period 12,817 12,837 12,711 12,731 12,837 12,731
Issuance of shares under equity-based compensation plans 50 (21) 69 (19)    
Balance at end of period 12,867 12,817 12,780 12,711 12,867 12,780
Retained earnings            
Increase (Decrease) in Stockholders' Equity [Roll Forward]            
Balance at beginning of period 11,137 10,702 10,041 10,096 10,702 10,096
Net income 821 866 982 964    
Cash dividends paid and accrued (427) (431) (407) (411)    
Issuance of shares under equity-based compensation plans (1)   (1)      
Repurchase of shares     (698) (608)    
Balance at end of period 11,530 11,137 9,917 10,041 11,530 9,917
Accumulated other comprehensive loss            
Increase (Decrease) in Stockholders' Equity [Roll Forward]            
Balance at beginning of period (4,235) (4,118) (4,250) (4,342) (4,118) (4,342)
Other comprehensive income (loss), net of tax 90 (118) 155 92    
Balance at end of period (4,146) (4,235) (4,095) (4,250) (4,146) (4,095)
Shares held in trust            
Increase (Decrease) in Stockholders' Equity [Roll Forward]            
Balance at beginning of period (1) 0 (1) (1) 0 (1)
Issuance of shares under equity-based compensation plans 1 (1)        
Balance at end of period 0 (1) 0 (1) 0 0
Noncontrolling interests            
Increase (Decrease) in Stockholders' Equity [Roll Forward]            
Balance at beginning of period 44 44 41 43 44 43
Net income 1 2 1 1    
Cash dividends paid and accrued (1) (1)   (2)    
Changes in noncontrolling interest of consolidated subsidiaries - net 1 (1) (1) (1)    
Balance at end of period $ 45 $ 44 $ 41 $ 41 $ 45 $ 41